The 90s: The tale of a girl and her decade.

Everyone has that song that defines them. It can be profound, meaningful, or make you nostalgic. For me, that song is any song produced between the years 1995-2003.  Now, these may seem like arbitrary years to most of you, but to me, they are the most profound years of my little Ariel life.

1995-2003 were the years that I discovered that there was indeed music beyond what was being sung on Barney and Sesame Street.

As any of my roommates can attest, I still adore any song released in the late 90s through early 2000s.

 

Destiny’s Child taught me how to be fierce(I still want to be Beyonce when I grow up).

 

The Spice Girls were my first concert and taught me all about girl power (I went when I was in grade 2, with my best friend and our 2 dads. My dad went to the bathroom before the show started and they came on when he was still gone. I cried. I didn’t think it was fair that my dad had to miss the best thing that would ever happen to me).

Gerri was totally my favourite. I'm not super sure why though...

 

My first love was Lance Bass (yeah, I know…).

I will admit that I am now a JT convert, but 9-year-old version of Ariel was all kinds of in love with the Bass.

 

The Vengaboys taught me about party islands in the Mediterranean (although I used to sing the song “we’re going to eat pizza” not Ibiza. My bad).

I still don't super get this music video...and I learned 98% of my current dance moves from the Hey Ya! video. These are all things you don't forget easily.

 

And I learned 98% of my current dance moves from the Hey Ya! music video.

These are all things that you don’t forget easily.

All of these things still influence most of my choices as a full-functioning (marginally sane) 20-year old girl.  A lot of my wardrobe is more than slightly reminiscent of the 90s. I have a variation of the Rachel haircut (just a bit shorter). And the majority of things I say/do, I think WWBD (what would Beyonce do).

Don’t get me wrong, I do know that there was some serious tackiness associated with the 90s and early 2000s (Lou Bega, anyone? Anyone?) but for me, they are the years where I learned all I would REALLY need to know for the rest of my life (or at least up until now).

ANYWAY. I hope that I have not just severely embarrassed myself on the Internet proclaiming that my first love was Lance Bass and I cried at a Spice Girls concert when I was 7.

here’s a little something to remind everyone just how awesome late 90s-early 2000s really were. Enjoy!

Ariel out.

This entry was posted in Ariel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

