My neverending, unrelenting love for Freaks and Geeks

If you’ve never had the chance to see this show, view it immediately.

Seriously.

This has been one of those shows that has stayed with me even years after the last time I saw it. It’s about teenagers in 1980, so the music’s awesome (think Grateful Dead and killer 1970s Classic Rock, before hair metal), centered around a brother and sister duo Sam and Lindsay Weir, who luckily enough happen to have the same age gap that me and my lovely wee brother do! (Enter reason #28 why I love this show).

So basically Lindsay is the once perfect, now struggling to be rebellious older sister who has newly found herself friends with the “Freaks” of her high school, and Sam is a fresh into high school, grade nine “Geek”. The plot more or less focuses on Lindsay and her friends, juxtaposed (yeah, I go to university, whatever) alongside Sam’s story with his friends. I know I’m losing you so I’ll just go over the awesome cast (which I guarantee will blow. your. mind.) then show you some mutha fuckin’ clipz.

Cast + Crew:

– Directed by Judd Apatow

– Starring: Jason Segel, Seth Rogen, James Franco, Busy Philips, Martin Starr, John Francis Daley, Joe Flatherty ,Rashida Jones, Leslie Mann, Shia LeBeouf… SHALL I GO ON?!

Unfortunately, since the general viewing public is more interested in Big Brother and there were no sweet premium channels to pick it up, Freaks and Geeks got canceled after one measly season. But whatever because they packed the shit out of the first season with killer one liners along with story-lines with heart and depth and emotion and feeling and you get my point.

This is personally one of my favourite scenes, mostly because (a) Bill Haverchuck is the most amazing, loveable character ever and (b) I was watching this episode, alone at my cottage, eating a freshly made grilled cheese, laughing my butt off, only to realize some weird Inception-like shit was going on… just watch the clip and you’ll get it.

Oh and here’s another awesome Bill scene:

And the sole reason why my dance moves are so awesome:

That’s it, I just realized I have my whole DVD box set here…

Sorry, paper on China’s reform of state-owned enterprises, you’re getting written tomorrow…

-N

 

This entry was posted in Nat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

