The Oprah Pizza

So, this blog is in NO WAY a food blog. I just wanted to make that clear before I posted an entire post about a VERY delicious pizza I made and urge everyone else to run out and make their own Oprah Pizza.

First of all, you may be thinking, “Why is it called the Oprah Pizza? Did Oprah help you make it or something?”

No, Oprah, unfortunately Oprah and I are not pizza buddies and very rarely get together on Monday nights to create delicious dinners. I got the name because on this pizza is all of my favourite things!  (Get it? Favourite things, like Oprah’s favourite things.)

I started off this delicious culinary adventure by making the dough, which is a recipe I stole from Hilary‘s blog.

Pizza dough:
– 1 tablespoon yeast
– 1 cup of warm water
– 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
– 2 1/4 to 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
– 2 tablespoons olive oil
– 1/2 teaspoon salt (except we are actually COMPLETELY out of salt at our place, so I left this guy out. I’m sure it will be better included though…)

First I put the warm water in a bowl and added the yeast. Have you ever actually just watched yeast grow? It’s surprisingly fun, it just expands like an alien colony until it is one giant uniform lump of warm, gooey, mess. Pretty cool. To get really good alien yeast, wait about 5 minutes.

In a separate bowl, mix the dry stuff together and when the yeast/water mixture looks nice and gross add it to the dry goods and mix it all up. I just sort of dove in with my hands, partly because I was too lazy to want to wash another spoon later and partly because I genuinely like beating up dough. I added half the oil into the dough and then sprinkled the rest of it in a giant bowl.

Once the dough was all together and thoroughly kneaded (actually quite an important step, don’t skimp on the kneading) put it in the oiled bowl and let it chill out for about half an hour while it grows to twice it’s size.

Yeah, you see two different types of cheese...

While the dough was rising, I decided what was going to be on my perfect pizza. I went with spinach, zucchini, mushrooms, prosciutto, goat cheese, mozzarella, and fried onions and garlic (not pictured).

I chopped everything up carefully and once the dough was ready, I splatted it on a pizza pan and started building my masterpiece.

I call this the Everest shot.

 

I loving layered all of my favourite foods one on top of another until I actually couldn’t possibly fit any more on one pizza.

I started with the tomato paste, then added the spinach, mushrooms and zucchini, then came the mozza, followed by prosciutto and onions and garlic and topped off with herbed goat cheese!

Once I was satisfied that there could physically be no more toppings added, I popped the little devil into the oven at 350 until he was done. I think it took about 20-25 minutes to cook all the way through because it was such a low temperature, but I really didn’t want it to burn.

The finished product:

What can I say? I'm Italian. I can make pizza and pasta.

Gooey. Drippy. Delicious.

 

Here ends my foray into food-blogging. If I decide to do this more often, I promise I will invest in a good thesaurus to find better words for delicious, because I feel like it was slightly overused in this little post…

-Ariel out.

This entry was posted in Ariel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

